The Birthday Song

Like nothing had happened,
I came out in the selfsame street.
The previous tears had dried but
A breeze brought back a discreet
Dampness, drowning out the thirsty
Eyelids with a warmhearted wine.
But a secret of recent nights netted
My moist eyes as their valentine.

Thus, the fairy falling falls asked in a
Game of seek, to hide all their pains.
And so, I terribly trudged down the
Road with the most restless rains.
It so happened to be on the ‘left’
From my teentsy tragic tomb,
One that took away my daughter,
A blessing from my wife’s womb.

She swooped like an archaic angel
At her birth, from a hearsay heaven
Into the longing laps of her father.
Ah! my little love were to be seven
Today, the gloomy gifts that got Ribboned races ago, lie all along
Her graveyard, where a mother still
Sits and sings the birthday song.

Leave a comment